Tags

I was reading something in the last day or so that insisted that words of self affirmation are important to overall well being.  I think pretty highly of myself for the most part, but I saw a writing prompt in a book that requested I write my favorite attribute.  It’s a little hard to choose, but I think my best trait is my attitude.

First of all, I am an unusually optimistic person.  For someone who’s been through the ringer, and works in a field full of unpleasant realities, I almost always see the bright side of any situation.  Along with that, I think highly of people until they prove (repeatedly) that they are unworthy of my admiration.  Some of that comes from believing that all people are created in the image of God, and some probably just a gift of a naive personality.

I learned as a child that I cannot change what happens to me, but I can control how I respond to it.  Part of that means allowing myself to retain an openness to people, despite the risk of getting hurt again.

 

