Tags

,

I’m never quite sure how to transition from night shift to day shift on my days off.  I have children, they need driven to school and fed during daylight hours, so just maintaining a nocturnal state seven days a week isn’t an option for me.  I enjoy night shift, I still feel a bit of a thrill at times to be up and productive while the rest of the world sleeps.  There is something beautiful about empty city streets.

I sleep well for the most part, but it’s hard to set limits for myself.  On the days, like today, after working all night I’m exhausted, but don’t want to sleep too long so that I can sleep tonight.  That state I spend the day in, when I’ve only had a couple of hours of sleep, is almost like suspended reality.  I’m too tired to feel really productive, my head feels fuzzy and slow.  I know my reactions to my kids are not as patient as usual.

 

