Tags

My life is very noisy. I have more than a couple kids, and they are only quiet when sleeping. I work in a hospital with lots of beeping, talking, and even some moaning and groaning. Then I like to go to church on Sunday mornings, and there’s some loud music there. A moment of silence is a rare thing.

I’m sitting at home alone right now. The kids are at their dad’s house, the dog is quietly sleeping on the couch. For a while, I have been sitting in the silence, not sad, not wishing it away. My mind wanders where it will in the quiet. In the noise of every day, my thoughts don’t have a chance to really form themselves into their full potential. They can’t follow the path they choose out to it’s end.

I find more often lately, I would rather drive in silence than have the radio on. Is it because of getting older, or because my situation is complicated and needs pondering? I feel grateful for where I am right now. I am grateful for the choices that I have to make, grateful for freedom to make the choices that are best for me and my children. There is always potential for disaster, but I’m choosing to see the potential for great things.

