Tags

When I was young, I had a step-dad that was abusive. The things he did, the way he treated us, shaped the person I am. I can’t stand unkindness. I don’t even tolerate gossip well. Somehow, despite all of this, I married a man who treated me and my kids the same way. I know that there is something wrong with me that put me into that situation. I have a warped view of myself and probably undervalue myself.
I shared that to explain where I am today. I am free. I am a single mom, which seems to imply suffering or difficulties, but I love it. I love my children, and am so grateful to have them. I even enjoy the peace and quiet when they’re all tucked in for the night.
I have a feeling that there’s more to come, probably more difficulties, maybe even a little romance. Right now, I think I’d like to hit a pause button and soak it all in.

