Tags

I’m learning so many things lately, and most of it I’ve learned before. I don’t know how to keep track of everything I know, the lessons of life and how to live it. I know I’m not the wisest person out there, and I don’t even know how much I don’t know. Despite that, I want to share what I’m learning. Don’t know if it will help anyone, but maybe by putting some of it into words, I’ll solidify it in my own understanding, make it stick a little better in my own mind.
It might all fit in this post, I might remember everything I want to say right now, or this may be a series of posts. I don’t really plan any of this.
First of all, stay humble. It’s funny to me that I even have a problem with this, because in my own mind I’m pretty darn humble. But somewhere along the way I started seeing this as a virtue. I attempt to learn every day, and am learning, but see my increased knowledge as another virtue. God has had to knock me down a few pegs to teach me that none of this is of me. “My” virtue is only of him, not myself. This is a lesson I have been taught before, and may never fully grasp, but hope and pray sticks with me.
My second lesson recently is to stop trying to do it all on my own. As a single mom, or maybe it’s inherent stubbornness, I don’t want to be a charity case. I know I’m strong, but not allowing others to help me is a weakness, and robs them of the ability to be a blessing to me. I actually caught myself at work the other day when a coworker offered me help. I knew I could handle my difficulty on my own, but by allowing her to participate, it eased my work load and brought us closer.
It’s been a long day, and my bed is calling my name, so I’ll end there for now. Hopefully I’ll have some other lessons to pass on soon. God is patient with me, continually showing me what I’m missing.