Luke 9:62 KJV says “And Jesus said unto him, No man, having put his hand to the plow, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.

I’ve been studying this verse a little lately.  It’s so hard not to look back.  The past is familiar and comfortable, and even if there’s been pain and difficulties, at least you know it.  The future, pressing on toward the mark, we have no control over.  I’m stepping out blind everyday, not knowing what the next minute will bring let alone the next year.  But, we are commanded to put our hands to the plow, to strive everyday.  I just don’t know what kind of crop I’m planting yet.

I worry that I’m looking back too much, regretting my mistakes, wishing to redo things.  That worry itself is a distraction.  Anything that is not plowing is wasted effort.  There is a time to mourn, and I have mourned many losses, but then it is time to sing.

 

