Tags

My mom used to tell me a little rhyme that she learned as a girl anytime I’d pout about anything.  It goes “nobody likes me, everybody hates me, think I’ll go eat worms.”  There’s more to it, but you get the point.  I always hated when she’d start saying that, it’s quite condescending, and just plain rude, but it was how she dealt with my feelings.  That said, my mom is my best friend.  She is honest, wise, and a great listener.

There are some things that just don’t need to be shared with your mother though, and for that I have a brother.  Especially when I want a male perspective on things, he’s the guy I go to.  Growing up, life was more difficult than any child should have to endure, and so we’re closer than other siblings.  Shared suffering creates a bond like nothing else.  Because there is no need to cover the history, the why I am the way I am, he is easy to bounce things off of.  He gives me good logic, and makes me laugh.  There is a drive in him, he has made much of his life despite difficult circumstances, and I admire him.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/13/prompt-something-so-strong/

